Sold out

Old Indian Coin Charms (5pcs)

  • Five genuine old Indian coins with copper bails added for use in jewelry making.
  • India introduced their first decimal coins in 1957. The coins were initially called Naye Paise, or new Paise, to distinguish them from the previous coins. In order to aid the many blind in the country, each coin was distinctly different. This set includes the scalloped edge 2 Naye Paisa. The coin has the denomination on one side and the lions from the Sarnath pillar of Ashoka, which serves as the national emblem of India.

    In the pre-decimalization period (1835 – 1956), the Rupee was divided into 64 equal parts called ‘pice’ or 192 equal parts called ‘pies’. But under the decimal system, the Rupee was divided into 100 equal parts called ‘paisa’. It was also decided that during the transition period of 3 to 4 years, when both the old and new coins would remain in circulation, the new decimal paisa would be called “Naya Paisa” and after this interim period the prefix “Naya” would be dropped.

    This set includes one British India coinage under George VI 1938-1947 - 1 Pice (Quarter Anna). made of Bronze.  Central hole with imperial crown above. Around the upper half of the hole is the English legend divided by the crown: 1 PICE INDIA. Around the lower half is the value in Hindi (left) and Urdu (right) separated by the date in the center. All within a raised, toothed rim. 

    This set includes one British India coinage under George V or VI - one-quarter anna, 1917 - 1942.

    Two Pice Horse coins; bronze, 1950-1955


    Purchased in Rishikesh, India, December 2017 - check out the street vendor with the pile of old coins!

    1. 2x 1953 one pice horse
    2. 1x 1945 British India coinage one pice
    3. 1x (1917-1942) British India coinage one quarter anna
    4. 1x 1963 two paisa
    5. copper bails