Sold out

Old Indian Coin Charms (5pcs)

  • Five genuine old Indian coins with copper bails added for use in jewelry making.
  • India introduced their first decimal coins in 1957. The coins were initially called Naye Paise, or new Paise, to distinguish them from the previous coins. In order to aid the many blind in the country, each coin was distinctly different. This set includes the scalloped edge 2 Naye Paisa. The coin has the denomination on one side and the lions from the Sarnath pillar of Ashoka, which serves as the national emblem of India.

    In the pre-decimalization period (1835 – 1956), the Rupee was divided into 64 equal parts called ‘pice’ or 192 equal parts called ‘pies’. But under the decimal system, the Rupee was divided into 100 equal parts called ‘paisa’. It was also decided that during the transition period of 3 to 4 years, when both the old and new coins would remain in circulation, the new decimal paisa would be called “Naya Paisa” and after this interim period the prefix “Naya” would be dropped.


    Purchased in Rishikesh, India, December 2017 - check out the street vendor with the pile of old coins!

    1. 1x 1962 one paisa
    2. 1x 1963 one paisa
    3. 1x 1964 one paisa
    4. 1x 1957 two paisa
    5. 1x 1963 two paisa
    6. copper bails
    7. you will receive the exact 5 coins with the bails photographed here