Sold out

Old Indian Coin Charms (20pcs)

  • Twenty genuine old Indian coins with copper bails added for use in jewelry making.
  • India introduced its first decimal coins in 1957. The coins were initially called Naye Paise, or new Paise, to distinguish them from the previous coins. In order to aid the many blind in the country, each coin was distinctly different. This set includes twenty 1 Naye Paisa. The coin has the denomination on one side and the lions from the Sarnath pillar of Ashoka, which serves as the national emblem of India.

    In the pre-decimalization period (1835 – 1956), the Rupee was divided into 64 equal parts called ‘pice’ or 192 equal parts called ‘pies’. But under the decimal system, the Rupee was divided into 100 equal parts called ‘paisa’. It was also decided that during the transition period of 3 to 4 years when both the old and new coins would remain in circulation, the new decimal paisa would be called “Naya Paisa” and after this interim period the prefix “Naya” would be dropped.


    Purchased in Rishikesh, India, December 2017 - check out the street vendor with the pile of old coins!

    1. 20 Naya paisa
    2. copper bails
    3. you will receive the exact 20 coins with the bails photographed here